Clark School Home UMD

Distinguished Alumni Award

In 2012 the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering established the Distinguished Alumni Award to recognize alumni who have made significant and meritorious contributions to their fields.

Alumni are nominated by their advising professors or the department chair, the Department Council then approves their selection. In early May, the faculty and staff gather to honor the recipients at a luncheon. The recipients also have an opportunity to share the story of their education at the University of Maryland; how it has prepared them for and shaped their career.

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients


From left to right: Dr. Balaji Sampath, Dr. Nital Patel, Dr. Leandros Tassiulas,
Dr. Rama Chellappa (ECE Department Chair), and Dr. Mark Smith.


Dr. Nital Patel

Dr. Balaji Sampath
Founder, AID India

Dr. Mark Smith

Dr. Leandros Tassiulas
Professor, Yale School of Engineering and Applied Science



Dr. Carole Teolis
TRX Systems

Dr. Wade Trappe
Professor, Rutgers University


From L-R: Nikos Sidiropoulos, Lawrence Carin,
Rama Chellappa, Chaitali Chakrabarti & Rajiv Laroia.

Dr. Chaitali Chakrabarti
Professor, Arizona State University

Dr. Lawrence Carin
Department Chair, ECE, Duke University

Dr. Rajiv Laroia

Dr. Nikos Sidiropoulos
Professor, University of Minnesota


Dr. David Bader
Professor, Georgia Tech

Mr. Robert Briskman
Founder, Sirius Satellite Radio

Dr. Naomi Leonard
Professor, Princeton University

Dr. Ramesh Rao
Professor, University of California, San Diego