November 2012

The Fall 2012 EV Meet Up in organized in the University of Maryland Campus.

A Parking Lot Full of Plug-In Cars, Meetup at University of Maryland

October 2012

Prof. Khaligh was a Guest Editor for the Special Section of IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology on Sustainable Transportation Systems.

September 2012

Prof. Khaligh receives the Best Vehicular Electronics Paper Award from IEEE Vehicular Technology Society (VTS). The award is presented in the 2012 IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference, in Quebec City, Montreal, Canada.

June 2012

Tshikuna Muanankese (An NSF LSAMP Fellow) recieves the 2011-2012 best paper in electrical engineering and the Sujon Guha Memorial Award for Academic Excellence and Outsantding Leadership.

Prof. Khaligh is the Program Co-Chair of the 2012 IEEE Transportation Electrification Conference and Expo., in Dearborn, MI.

February 2012

We are collaborating with Genovation Cars Inc., a Rockville-based, green car company. Genovation's objective is to provide its customers with safe, sustainable automobiles that do not compromise their driving independence.

Prof. Khaligh is the Grants and Awards Chair of the 2012 IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference and Expo., in Orlando, FL.

January 2012

Prof. Khaligh has been awarded U.S. Patent # 8,089, 254, titled, “Digital Control of Power Converters”.  The patent was issued on January 3, 2012.

September 2011

The 2011 IEEE Vehicle Power and Propulsion Conference was held in J.W. Marriott, Chicago, IL. Prof. Khaligh was the Program Chair of the Conference.

Power Electronics, Energy Harvesting and Renewable Energies Laboratory (PEHREL) is established in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Maryland at College Park.

March 2011

Our Paper entitled "Unconventional wearable energy harvesting from human horizontal foot motion" recieves Nano Presentation Award in the IEEE 36th Applied Power Electronics Conference, Fort Worth, TX, Mar. 2011.

July 2010

Omer C. Onar is the recipient of the distinguished Alvin Weinberg Fellowship of the U.S. Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory. The Alvin M. Weinberg Fellowship honors Enrico Fermi Award winner and former ORNL Director (1955-1973) Alvin Weinberg.  The fellowship is awarded to outstanding early career scientists and engineers with an interest in energy and energy-related science and technology challenges. Weinberg Fellows work at the frontiers of science and engineering fields that have the potential to transform energy technologies.  Even the opportunity to interview for this distinguished fellowship is considered an honor in itself.

April 2010

The researchers at EHREL will conduct cutting-edge research and educational acitivities as a part of multi-million dollar DOE Funded World-Class Smart Grid Education and Workforce Training Center at IIT.

March 2010

Professor Khaligh receives the 2010 prestigious Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award sponsored by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE).

Ralph R. Teetor Educational Awards distinguishes professors from academic institutions who have made significant contribution to the field of Automotive Systems, internationally.
This year six individuals have received this award and Prof. Khaligh is the only recipient in Electrical Engineering Discipline.

SAE 2010

The award was presented at the 2010 SAE World Congress & Exposition in Detroit, Michigan, on April 2010. More details about this award can be found at

February 2010

Our Paper entitled "Bi-Directional Charging Topologies for Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles" recieves Nano Presentation Award in the IEEE 35th Applied Power Electronics Conference, Palms Spring, CA, Feb. 2010.

October 2009

The researchers at EHREL will conduct cutting-edge wind energy research in IIT's World Class University-Industry Consortium for Wind Energy Research, Education, and Workforce Development.

June 2009

EPPEC and EHREL host the first REU program in Hybrid Electric and Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicles in the Nation.

May 2009

Omer C. Onar receives 2009 Joseph J. Suozzi INTELEC® Fellowship in Power Electronics, (Single Award-from IEEE Power Electronic Society).

April 2009

Prof. Khaligh received the 2009 Armour College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award, Illinois Institute of Technology.

Yao Da receives the Master's Level Exceptional Design & Presentation Prize in ECE Day Poster Competition.

Prof. Khaligh becomes the Conference Chair, IEEE Chicago Section.

February 2009
Prof. Khaligh gives a professional education seminar on Hybrid Electric and Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicles at the IEEE 34th Applied Power Electronics Conference, Washington, DC.

Omer C. Onar receives APEC-PSMA Scholarship to attend 34th Applied Power Electronics Conference (APEC).

Our research is featured in IIT Magazine.

January 2009
Prof. Khaligh is named the top Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology (Ranked 1st among top 15 Associate Editors), based on average 1st review cycle duration during 2007-2008.

Prof. Khaligh is a guest editor for the Special Section of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INDUSTRIAL ELECTRONICS on ENERGY HARVESTING

November 2008

Prof. Khaligh has organized a Special Session on Power Electronics for Alternative Energy Systems in the 34th Annual Conference of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society in collaboration with Prof. Miraoui from University of Technology Belfort-Montbeliard (UTBM), FRANCE - IECON 2008

Peng Zeng receives IEEE-IES Scholarship to attend 34th Annual Conference of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IECON).

Our research is featured in ECE magazine.

August 2008
Omer C. Onar receives 2008-2009 IEEE-VTS Transportation Electronics Fellowship,
(Single Award - awarded to one person every two years).

July 2008
EHREL receives a three year National Science Foundation (NSF) Grant to implement an Integrated Bi-Directional AC/DC and DC/DC Converter for Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicles.

Our research is featured in IIT’s Energy Magazine

March 2008
Prof. Khaligh receives NSF Fellowship for NSF Summer Institute on Energy Challenge and Nanotechnology.

January 2008
EHREL receives the 2008 Educational and Research Initiative Fund (ERIF) from IIT.