Clark School Home UMD

ECE News Story

ECE Professor Wins 2013 UMD Invention of the Year Award

ECE Professor Wins 2013 UMD Invention of the Year Award

Time-reversal techniques for optimizing broadband communication networks and and electronic home plate prototype were among Electrical and Computer Engineering’s entries at the University of Maryland Invention of the Year Awards. Three of those inventions were recognized as promising new technologies.

The University of Maryland’s Office of Technology Commercialization (OTC) hosted the 26th Annual Invention of the Year Awards reception on Tuesday, April 16, 2013 from 4:30-6:00 pm at the University of Maryland Golf Course Club House.

Winners were selected by an independent panel of judges consisting of representatives from on and off campus, who voted for the Invention of the Year in three different categories: Information, Life, and Physical Sciences. ECE researchers won the Information Science Category and placed as runners-up in both Information Science and Physical Science. BioHealth Innovation Inc., a Maryland-based innovation intermediary that helps commercialize market-relevant research, offered services to each winning team to help them write a successful Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) proposal.

Professor K. J. Ray Liu, and his students Feng Han, Yu-Han Yang, BeiBei Wang and Yongle Wu, won the Information Science Category for their research “Time-Reversal Division Multiple Access for Wireless Broadband Communications.”

This research team has developed an innovative approach to overcome this interference deficiency by utilizing a time reversal (TR) signal transmission technique that makes full use of multi-path data transmission environments.  Energy from the time-reversal waves is able to be focused only at intended locations with excellent spatial resolution, especially in ultra-wideband (UWB) systems.  This results in a low cost, energy-efficient (a very low radio frequency (RF) transmission), secure solution in multi-user wireless broadband communication networks.  The quickly emerging area of wireless home area networks (WHAN) for multi-media and data, and other well suited applications such as radio frequency identification (RFID), with its enhanced pin-pointing resolution and extended communication range, are primary targets for entry into the marketplace.

Another ECE research team also placed as runners-up in the Information Science Category for their research on “Sensor Adaptation in Iris Biometrics.” Electrical and Computer Engineering Chair Ramalingam Chellappa (UMIACS), and students Jaishanker Pillai and Maria Puertas-Calvo developed a prototype machine learning algorithm that “cures” the sensor adaptation problem so that iris reading sensors can utilize data collected from another sensor.  They developed a general framework for learning kernel functions for iris codes, which makes numerous kernel-based machine learning algorithms applicable to iris codes.  The proposed method also produces significant improvement in recognition performance, is robust to in plane rotations and can incorporate privacy using cancelable iris patterns.  The result is an efficient solution requiring limited changes to the existing iris recognition systems.

Professor Christopher Davis (ECE/ISR), post-doctoral researcher, John Rzasa, and students Gerald Spessard, Leroy Chamberlain, Jr., and Jakob Scharmer were runners-up in the Physical Science Category in recognition for their electronic home plate (EHP) prototype.

The EHP is a simple, low-cost baseball home plate that contains electronic and opto-electric components that will detect and indicate the presence, position, and speed of a baseball passing over the plate.  It is designed to assist umpires in determining if a pitch is a ball or a strike in games and can be a valuable tool for pitchers and batters alike in baseball training.  The EHP is unique in that not only can it detect a ball as it passes between the outer edges of the home plate but also is automatically adjusted to correspond to the knee-to-chest strike zone.

UMD’s innovations help to stimulate the local economy, provide valuable products for public use, and help fuel research and entrepreneurial initiatives through inter- and intra-university collaborations. The Invention of the Year Awards reception is hosted by the Office of Technology Commercialization, part of the Division of Research at the University of Maryland. Speakers at the reception included Vice President for Research Dr. Patrick O'Shea and OTC Executive Director Dr. Gayatri Varma.

The event was part of the University of Maryland's 30 Days of EnTERPreneurship, a month-long celebration and exhibition of innovation and entrepreneurship on the College Park campus.

For more detailed information regarding the finalists, see



Related Articles:
Apple Publishes Artificial Intelligence Paper for the First Time Ever Lead by UMD Alumnus
2016 ECE Graduate Open House Streamed Live for Prospective Students
PhD student Upal Mahbub and Prof. Rama Chellappa win IEEE UEMCON best paper award 
Chellappa to Receive Distinguished Alumnus Award from Indian Institute of Science
Vishal Patel chosen for the A. Walter Tyson Assistant Professorship Award at Rutgers
Chellappa Named Distinguished University Professor
UMD Inventors Zoom In on New Camera Technology 
ECE Alumnus Accepts Position at Drexel University
Liu Selected to Receive 2012 Faculty Service Award
Chellappa Named Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering

April 23, 2013

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

President Obama names Michael Rotkowitz a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Prof. Ed Ott to receive Richardson Medal (EGU) and Moser Award (SIAM)

Leite Nanophotonics Research Featured on Advanced Optical Materials Cover

Gov Hogan Announces UMD’s Role in $65M Environmental Agenda

Apple Publishes Artificial Intelligence Paper for the First Time Ever Lead by UMD Alumnus

Liu Wins 2016 IEEE Signal Processing Society Meritorious Service Award

University of Maryland to Establish Research Center of Excellence with UTC Climate, Controls & Security and Otis

Papamanthou Receives NetApp Faculty Fellowship Award

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts